Talk

Advanced search

night feeds

(7 Posts)
monkeyman01 Mon 10-Aug-15 01:53:49

hi guys I'm new.
i was hoping for some advice, me and my wife are expecting our first child together, and the topic has come up about night feeds!!! i have managed to convince her to express so i can do some night feeds as i don't want to miss out on the experience. my problem now though is that she wants me to get up every time she feeds to do changes. I'm a tree surgeon ( climber ) and i need my sleep to be able to do my job safely, do you have any suggestions of how to share the work load ??

BananaPie Mon 10-Aug-15 02:18:20

Well, how about the one who gets up to feed the baby also changes the nappy? Bit pointless you both being up in the middle of the night isn't it?

I wouldn't recommend expressing so you can share night feeds at first though. Leave it a few weeks until supply is established.

Elledouble Mon 10-Aug-15 02:33:51

Yes, unfortunately the night feeds are important for stimulating milk supply because that's when the prolactin is at its highest level, so it's probably best for her to do them. Maybe if she manages to express you could use it to give the baby its last feed at night so she can go to bed early? That's what we've done quite a lot. Expressing isn't easy though and it can be quite hard to fit it into your day (as it's got to be done at a time when the baby isn't already eating or needing looking after) so it might be a good idea to leave it a few weeks.

I agree that whoever gets up to feed the baby should change them!

BreeVDKamp Mon 10-Aug-15 02:42:06

You don't need to change the baby every time you feed them at night. It will just wake the baby up even more and you'll have to work harder to get them back down. DS goes all night in 1 nappy and hasn't had a leak or nappy rash so far (both disposables and reusables). Newborns don't have a very big output anyway.