Talk

Advanced search

Breastfeeding - baby crying

(7 Posts)
cwhite Sat 13-Jun-15 16:29:45

My 7 week old, who has been a champ at breastfeeding until now, has recently starting pulling away and crying while I'm trying to feed him. He is generally a very settled baby and does get terribly upset during feeding. He is fine about half the time, and the other half he will be crying quite a lot. I feel terrible seeing him like that and am at the point of thinking of switching over to formula as it feels cruel. Up until now it's been a nice bonding experience but I now think it is having the opposite effect. I think he is crying as my milk is coming really quickly - has anyone else had this? And any suggestions on how to make it so he isn't so upset?

Topseyt Sun 14-Jun-15 00:56:13

Not that I am a breastfeeding expert, I formula fed, but things like thrush in their mouth can apply to both formula and breastfed babies.

Each of mine got thrush in their mouths on a couple of occasions. They would begin feeding whilst particularly hungry, and then pull away crying because it was uncomfortable.

Worth a check. If I remember rightly it looked like white fuzz in their mouths, over their tongues and inner cheeks. Easily treated with drops from the GP.

NotWithoutMyMerkin Sun 14-Jun-15 01:15:23

If you think it's due to a rapid let down have you tried hand expressing a little into a towel before latching? I will try and find a helpful link...

NotWithoutMyMerkin Sun 14-Jun-15 01:17:26

kellymom.com/bf/got-milk/supply-worries/fast-letdown/ does this seem familiar?? Or if not, when is he crying exactly?

SJBean Sun 14-Jun-15 01:27:15