Talk

Advanced search

Feeding and sleeping issues

(7 Posts)
PuppyMummy Wed 12-Nov-14 07:50:01

Hi

looking for advice on feeding and sleeping. I have a 5 month old BF (occasional expressed bottle which he may or may not take).
He is still waking every 2 hrs in the night. this has been goin on for at least 6 weeks.
I thought it was the 4 month growth spurt at first but it hasn't improved. (I hav the wonder weeks app!)

My question is, every time he wakes I feed him. Sometimes he has 5 mins and drops to sleep sometimes maybe 20 mins.
Can he really be hungry each time?
id like to try not feeding him each time but im worried he may need it?

what do people think? (im back at work in Jan so could really do without getting up to him 4/5 times a night!)

thanks

RedRose27 Wed 12-Nov-14 11:01:15

Hi puppymummy. I'm no expert but pfb is 4 and a half months. We are having the 4 month regression at the moment. I was having the same question, should I be feeding her several times in the night? We went through many weeks of her only waking to be fed once in the night. Then got back up to twice a night. Monday night I fed her once, and the second feed she actually stopped herself after 5 mins started chatting to me! Last night she went from 6pm to 5am without a feed. So I definitely think my DD doesn't need it in the night, it's more habit.

So I would ask, how long does your DS go between feeds in the day? If it's 4 or 5 hours, maybe use that as a guide in the night too. That's what I do, so if DD wakes around 10 or after I try food. Them again another 4 hours min from whatever time she last woke.
I think the boob is like cake: if you offered me cake any time of the day or night I would eat it, regardless of whether I was really hungry smile

Or I've seen other people suggest on here to either try to cut one feed at a time, so settle him another way OR reduce the time of the feed by a minute each night until hopefully he doesn't wake.