Talk

Advanced search

4 week old feeding constantly (for comfort?) but now oversupply causing issues

(7 Posts)
bogbean Sat 18-May-13 14:34:59

My 4 week old DS wants to suckle all of his waking hours...

However now my supply has gone haywire and seems to be causing him discomfort, with posseting and painful wind.

I have tried spacing his feeds by distracting him, but can only manage 45 - 60 min gaps at most.

I am now trying to keep him on one boob for several hours to let the other become overfull before switching (advice on kellymom).

I feel as though I need to get to the root cause of his need to feed constantly... Is he comforting due to discomfort from something? (dairy sensitivity, reflux etc?).

Any thoughts?

NotSpartacus Sat 18-May-13 14:39:02

I think he's doing exactly what he should be doing.
I'm no expert, but my dd was an utter fiend for the first few weeks and I had tonnes of milk as a result (yay!). She was windy etc, but grew a lot (in fact did not lose weight after birth) and slept through early (7 weeks!).
Eventually - around 6 weeks or so - I managed to pace her feeds so thry were two hourly in the day. And that's how she went on until she started solids.

Forgetfulmog Sat 18-May-13 14:43:48

Could be reflux but tbh constant cluster feeding is completely normal at this age - my dd bf continuously for 11 hrs at that age one day shock!!

Don't worry about over supply - you're only over supplying as your body hasn't got your milk supply established. Your DS needs to feed constantly in order for your supply to get established. Ignore the advice that says to feed on one side for a number of hours, atm it's best if you keep switching your boobs at each feed - so feed from one side for a feed & then offer the 2nd boob at the next feed.

Lots of fluids, lots of cake food & lots of rest (ha,ha! grin).

It will get easier & then they hit a growth spurt grin

Honestly it does get easier. My dd is 8 mo & feeding her now is as easy as piesmile