Talk

Advanced search

Restarting breastfeeding after a 10 day break

(16 Posts)
NancyBlacket Wed 10-Apr-13 08:55:30

i'm hoping to restart / continue to breastfeed my 14 month DS after a 10 day separation from him.

I'm in hospital (abroad) with a broken leg. I've not expressed any milk and have begun to feel less engorged.

If I feed on demand through the nights will my supply increase? He will be in childcare during the day.

I so don't want to stop feeding him yet. Anyone able to reassure me while I wait to be reunited?!

Droflove Wed 10-Apr-13 09:41:58

I would have thought your milk would be well gone by now. Do you think you still have some?

NancyBlacket Wed 10-Apr-13 10:03:26

It's been 6 days so far and I definitely still have milk. But up until now I've been breastfeeding solidly for the last three years. Guess I'll just have to wait and see smile

mmmmsleep Wed 10-Apr-13 15:33:23

can you have a few days of help at home with as much day and night skin to skin breast feeding as poss....might need more than just night feeds to reestablish. certainly can be done though. people breast feed their adopted babies when not been pregnant! don't worry.

NancyBlacket Wed 10-Apr-13 16:36:46

Thanks for the encouraging words mmmmsleep. Yes should have the weekend with help. Will just have to see how it goes.

Soupa Wed 10-Apr-13 16:46:09

Your supply will bounce back, it is more than establishedsmile

Skin to skin and take it from there.

worldgonecrazy Wed 10-Apr-13 16:53:54

When I stopped bfing at 15 months, it took a few months for the milk to stop coming completely - had to squeeze a bit to get some out after a few weeks, but there were still drops for quite a while. I'm sure it will restart, even if it takes a while to kick-off again.

BreastfeedingQuest Wed 10-Apr-13 18:24:24