Talk

Advanced search

What type of formula to buy for 9.5 month old?

(8 Posts)
ilikeyoursleeves Tue 02-Apr-13 08:42:41

It's for my ds3 who will be starting nursery in a few weeks time, 3 days a week. I am BFing him and will continue to do so before and after work and on the days I'm not working. I have given away my pump and steriliser so can't express and tbh buying a little carton of milk would be easier.

I've never used formula before so I have no idea what to buy. I need something that's instant (in a carton, not powder) for a 9.5 month old who will probably only have a couple of oz from a cup. He might not even drink it since he barely takes any water in a cup but I thought I'd try anyway.

Thanks for any help!

Elkieb Tue 02-Apr-13 08:59:41

We used cow and gate- 6 + as he was weaning at that point. The formulas are nutritionally the same but some babies prefer a type. As you are using ready made you can try a few. You still need to sterilise and have bottles- I would recommend the avent bottles and steam steriliser. And just to reassure you, I ff my DS due to supply issues and he is happy, healthy and full of beans! grin

ilikeyoursleeves Tue 02-Apr-13 09:32:38

I wasn't going to use bottles seeing as he is over 9 months and doesn't get anything sterilised as it is. I assume I can just pour the milk carton in a cup? Can it keep for a few days? I reckon he will only drink a few oz at a time.

Loupee Tue 02-Apr-13 09:38:36

The guidelines are that anything that will contain milk should be sterilised up to 12 months. But if I were you I wouldn't bother sterilising a cup that will presumably go in a bag, and won't be storing milk for any length of time.
We use Aptamil follow on now, once opened the cartons are fine for 2 hours, or 24 hours if kept in a fridge. It doesn't really matter if you use first stage milk or follow on. And the brand is just personalreference.

ilikeyoursleeves Tue 02-Apr-13 09:48:12