Talk

Advanced search

Help - newborn going hours between feeds, normal?

(13 Posts)
Ozziegirly Tue 11-Dec-12 02:54:37

My DS2 is 1 day old born by ELCS at 39 weeks. Good birth weight and healthy.
He latched and fed in recovery and after that he went 6 hours between feeds yesterday. Today he fed at 5am and 830 and hasn't fed since and it is 2pm.

I have offered the breast and he latches (eventually) but then takes a couple of sucks and lets go.

I have flat nipples but he has fed ok once he's on. He has done 2 poos and a couple of wees today and although is sleepy, has been generally alert.

Lactation consultant is "busy" all day. My nurse is nice but also busy and not an expert afaik.

Would you be happy with leaving a baby to go this long between feeds?

I am a total novice as my DS1 wouldn't breastfeed (had v low blood sugar and never latched) so I am as inexperienced as it's possible to be.

Feel like 6-7 hours is ages to go between feeds but no one else seems concerned.

bringonthetrumpets Tue 11-Dec-12 03:07:22

It is a bit long. I would try to either manually express some colostrum or use a breast pump to get out what you can (10 minutes should get you a few drops) and spoon feed baby. Still continue to offer the breast and work on latching. Baby needs the colostrum for hydration and calories and you need the breast stimulation for your milk to come in. Hopefully the lactation consultant comes in soon!!

Ds2 is 2 days old today. He was very sleepy yesterday and went 5-6 hrs between feeds. Today we're more like 3-4 hours (if that). I think sometimes they are genuinely tired from all the 'being born' stuff. Try not to worry and see how tomorrow goes. If baby remains sleepy get advice from your midwife. But don't panic about day 1.

LadyKinbote Tue 11-Dec-12 03:32:18