Talk

Advanced search

can an 8 month old go all day with no milk?

(11 Posts)
jenrose29 Sat 20-Oct-12 10:55:38

My baby is almost 5 months and exclusively breastfed. I am studying at university and currently have to leave her for 4.5 hours. She will not take the bottle and manages this length of time fine. After Christmas however I have to leave her for 8 hours. Obviously I'll try getting her to take milk from a soppy cup but if she won't take it, what can I do? She hasn't started solids yet, but if she enjoys them will she be able to just have them while I'm away and catch up on milk in the evening/night?

Asmywhimsytakesme Sat 20-Oct-12 10:58:28

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Asmywhimsytakesme Sat 20-Oct-12 10:59:21

Asmywhimsytakesme Sat 20-Oct-12 10:59:49

PessimisticMissPiggy Sat 20-Oct-12 11:02:46

Express and put it in a cup for your DD. I returned to work at 8 months and she was fine having water with food and 5oz in the afternoon. She did make up for it overnight though - look for reverse cycling info on kellymom.

jenrose29 Sat 20-Oct-12 11:10:36

I will try a cup when she's a bit older but am just worried about what to do if she won't take it.

ChunkyPickle Sat 20-Oct-12 11:18:01

Try another cup - I went through pretty much everything they had in the kiddie cup aisle, until I found a straw cup that my bottle refuser could manage with (he still doesn't get sippy cups, although at 2 he can now use a real cup if I watch for when he gets bored and discards it still 1/4 full).

At 8 months, if he was kept interested, and fed other things mine would go all day without a feed - for me that was 9 til 4 - so I think if you can manage to express (I never could.. he just had water/juice) then you'll be fine for 8 hours.

5madthings Sat 20-Oct-12 11:25:50