Talk

Advanced search

Feel sad that I might ave to stop expressing but I've had enough now

(17 Posts)
pigletmania Sun 14-Oct-12 18:09:40

After a rocky start to bf I found myself expressing and giving formula top ups, 9 months on I am still doing it. I hope to make 10 months, and then stop. Just feel a little sad but hey ho

r3dsquirrel Sun 14-Oct-12 18:18:14

You've done amazingly well to get as far as you have. 9 months is fantastic. Most people give up if breastfeeding dosnt work out and only a small percentage of those who breastfeed make it beyond 6 months. I've been expressing for 7 months and I'm planning to switch to formula soon. I understand how you're feeling but trust me. You've gone above and beyond.

pigletmania Sun 14-Oct-12 18:22:40

Thanks red so have you too smile. I wanted to make it to 12 months but it's very time consuming and now ds is on the go even harder

TheProvincialLady Sun 14-Oct-12 18:24:01

You have done very very well and you have nothing to feel guilty about. You would feel guilty whenever you stopped - or at least I did at 18 months. You have to consider other things in your life as expressing is hard and time consuming. If you have had enough then that is completely justified. I felt guilty for a while but the sense of relief more than compensated!

pigletmania Sun 14-Oct-12 18:29:42

It's hard as dd is autistic, and recently become more demanding, so sitting at a machine expressing x amount of times a day is hard, she and ds really need more of my time

Seriouslysleepdeprived Sun 14-Oct-12 18:32:00

I take my hate off to both of you. I tried e pressing for one feed a day & it totally stressed me out. To get to 7/9 months is amazing smile

r3dsquirrel Sun 14-Oct-12 18:35:25