Talk

Advanced search

One week in and wondering whether giving up bfing is my only option. Can anyone help?

(19 Posts)
cokefloat Sat 22-Oct-11 06:28:17

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

cokefloat Sat 22-Oct-11 06:41:22

Parietal Sat 22-Oct-11 06:49:44

Sorry, I'm not an expert but I'm sure some will be along soon. Have you tried phoning the advice lines (la leche league etc). They are meant to be v good.

magpieC Sat 22-Oct-11 06:50:23

Sorry to hear that you're struggling. Has she been checked for a tongue tie?

Gwlondon Sat 22-Oct-11 06:54:12

A lactation consultant would be able to help you. Mine really helped me get through my problems.

LAbaby Sat 22-Oct-11 07:02:16

Didn't want to read and not reply as know there won't be many people around at this time. I'm no expert but just wanted to offer some sympathy. I was shocked by how tough I found breast feeding, painful, intrusive, impossible and exhausting when i already felt beaten up. In the early days my baby would just not latch on, he used to get so excited that he'd shake his head just as I thought I'd got him on and come off again. if id been told how difficult it was going to be I wouldn't have believed it!
At around two weeks i decided to quit and went to bed for the night, leaving my partner to give the baby formula. After 7 hours sleep I felt a bit more human and gave it one last try, with a nipple shield to protect my damaged nipples. That went a bit better and I stuck with it. 16 weeks in I am glad I did as it now works for us, and is a lot less hassle than making up formula.
I'm sure others will have helpful advice on what you can do to make it work - bit I just wanted to sympathize and say I understand how you feel!