Talk

Advanced search

can anyone talk to me about thrush?

(11 Posts)
iarebaboon Wed 21-Sep-11 21:35:54

DD is 6 weeks old

I experienced a lot of pain initially with BF, not cracks / bleeding, just very tender, sore breasts

I fed DS until he was 15 months, so I’m not a novice, and kind of knew to exepect to feel sore initially

The pain was subsiding, but for the last two days my left breast is very, very painful again

I’ve had the latch checked, it's fine. She hasn't got a tongue tie. i've been so careful to latch her on correctly

She is very big (10lb when born, `14.5lbs at 5 weeks) and strong and hungry which I initially blamed for the soreness, the sheer amount of attention my poor, sensitive boobs have been getting, and the power of her suck

However this 'new' pain is different and I’ve started to suspect thrush

The pain is a piercing sharp pain as she latches on. It hurts throughout the feed, but a more bruised sort of pain. The stabby, pully pain is in quite a specific place, it's to the immediate left of the pointy out bit of the nipple, but there is nothing to see, it feels like i should see a deep cut but there isn't one. The areola itself is shiny, and a bit peely. It’s not maddeningly itchy, but there is some itching now and then. DD does seem to have some white spots in her mouth, these could be bits of milk / sick, I’ve not figured out which

I’ve looked up the symptoms of thrush and I’m not sure, I definitely don’t have all the signs

oh and what made me also think thrush is that DD has had a sore, spotty looking, pink vulva for a week or so, this hasn’t responded to me conscientiously changing nappies every hour or two, drying thoroughly, susocreme / bepanthan, nappy off time

Sorry for the length and odd tone. I am very tired. has anyone had thrush with similar symptoms to these or am i well off suspecting it?

thank you

MrsSnaplegs Wed 21-Sep-11 21:39:50