Talk

Advanced search

Breast pump - total novice

(7 Posts)
9DonkeysAndABoy Sat 03-Sep-11 21:13:58

Hi, I need to start expressing milk, and I have a breast pump, but I am a bit confused how to store milk! I am completely new to this, my baby is 7 days old and I have been having problems breast feeding, and I am quite depressed about it (but that's a separate thread).

I have a Medela Swing breast pump, but waiting for storage bags to arrive. In the meantime, I was wondering if anyone knows if I can keep the breast milk in the fridge in the bottle that belongs to the pump? Ie. when I express, just put that container straight into the fridge? That should work for me as I should be offering the baby top ups after each feed. Also, how do you offer the baby the expressed milk, whether in bags or a bottle? Do you take it out of the fridge and pour into the sterilised bottle and then heat up in a warm bath? Or do you heat it up in the bag and put into the sterilised bottle?

Sorry - I told you I was a novice!

thisisyesterday Sat 03-Sep-11 21:18:45

yes, you can store the milk in the bottle that attaches to the pump. I wouldn't bother faffing around with bags unless you're planning to freeze it tbh.
to warm it up either just get it out and let it warm to room temp and offer it, or if baby prefers it warmer then stand it in some hot water for a little bit

have you seen a breastfeeding counsellor at all?

Mimmee Sat 03-Sep-11 21:23:59

I have medela mini pump and put the bottles straight in the fridge as they are already sterilised. You can keep in the back of fridge for up to 5 days but sounds like you will be using the milk sooner than that.

Up to you re feeding - the medela bottles come with teats so you could feed straight from those. I have the TT bottles and pour into them as DD is used to them. If I use the bags (for the freezer) I either defrost in the fridge overnight or put the bag in warm water to defrost (depending on how organised I am!).