Talk

Advanced search

Giving in to formula

(12 Posts)
hiss42 Fri 02-Sep-11 14:48:58

I'm new to bf so I apologise if there is 10 threads a day posted like this one!

I posted last night about agonising thrush, its so painful I keep crying just thinking about feeding. My 16 day old DS has been doing really well, he put on 1lb in the first week! and nearly another 1lb this week, even though I'm feeding through the thrush.
Went to see the GP today who has given me canisten and well as fluxomi...de? and said she also thinks I have a touch of mastitis. She saw what a state I was in and said not to be a hero and I should maybe try giving him formula tonight so DP can feed him and I can actually get some sleep.

I was horrified by the formula suggestion, if I were to give it to him tonight, what would the implications be? Would it upset his stomach, will he still want my breast tomrrow? Will I stop producing milk? I'm really confused and stressed, I can just about deal with the pain duirng the day but I don't think I can get through another night like last night! I've got a breast pump which is just as painful because of the cracked nipples from thrush, and hand expressing took about 45 minutes for less than 1oz of milk!

cheekyginger Fri 02-Sep-11 15:15:34

I've not been in your shoes from the sore nipple point of view. But i know many people that have given 1 bottle now and again to let sore nipples heal.

Its best to give yourself a break catch up on some sleep and let your nipples have a break and 1 or 2 bottles of formula will not harm your baby. Very unlikely to get nipple/teat confusion from a couple of bottles.

You might find that having a small break now and again means you breast feed for longer rather than "crashing and burning" and giving up now.

Just make sure you wind your LO well after a bottle.... good luck

Tigresswoods Fri 02-Sep-11 15:18:03