Talk

Advanced search

New mum, need help! (Latching, pillows, pain, sleeping...)

(9 Posts)
PrincessJenga Sun 14-Aug-11 12:12:45

Hello all,

I'm new to this (LO is just four days old) so please forgive me if I'm asking really stupid questions, but I'm determined to breastfeed and struggling a little so I'd appreciate your expert help.

I had an EMCS so was initially shown how to feed lying down. This sometimes works but LO seems to find it easier to latch on when I'm sitting upright. So, Q1 , any tips for how to get him to latch on lying down (especially in the evenings when I'm more tired and my tummy is hurting when I'm sat up)?

Again, because of the section wound, I'm finding it hard to hold him to my breast for long periods. Q2, do the feeding pillows work? Any you'd particularly recommend?

Once he's latched on LO usually feeds well, but he often falls asleep after 10 minutes or so and slips off. Q3, should I be trying to keep him awake so he can feed for longer? If so, how?

Finally, and I'm sure this is a 'classic'... it hurts... oh how it hurts... I have lansinoh, but Q4, what can I do to try to 'cool down' my burning nipples?

Thank you!!!

crikeybadger Sun 14-Aug-11 12:57:24

Not stupid questions at all, PrincessJenga- it's a new thing to you and your baby, so don't feel daft about asking for help. smile

I'll see if I can give you some suggestions ....
Q1- This page from the Australian Breastfeeding Association gives a good explanation about how to feed lying down. You may also find that using the clutch or rugby ball hold keeps the pressure of your section wound.

Q2- Lots of mnetters find that bfing cushions are helpful. I'm not sure of any actual brands, but there was a thread about it recently. It's here

Q3- This is fairly normal behaviour for a very new baby. Does he come off the breast contented and satisfied? As long as you are responding to his feeding cues then this all sounds fine. Has he been weighed since birth?