Talk

Advanced search

how long will I be able to leave my 3 month old for?

(24 Posts)
justabigdisco Sun 10-Jul-11 10:07:30

Hello
My first OP!
I am expecting my first in December and planning to BF. My husband and I have booked a holiday at the end of March. I think H is COMPLETELY in the dark about what life will be like with a baby.. Not saying I'm an expert but have had some experience with other people's babies so think I at least have a clue.
Anyway we've been talking about plans for the holiday. The accommodation offers babysitters so H is coming up with lots of things we can do as a couple, leaving the baby with them. I am thinking we will not be able to leave baby for more than 1-2 hours at a time (I will need to get him/her onto EBM via bottle at some point as going back to work but not sure whether we will manage this by 3 months).
Any suggestions/tips?
Thanks

EauRouge Sun 10-Jul-11 10:35:45

2 hours sounds realistic, it depends on the time of day because babies tend to cluster feed in the evenings. It also depends on the baby! DD1 would not be left alone at all but DD2 is quite happy with my DH for an hour or so. And finally it depends on you, you might not want to be apart from your baby (which is fine and normal!). grin

I'd just play it by ear, you can always get a steriliser and bottles if you want to express but don't introduce them too early because it can interfere with getting your supply established. I'd wait 6 weeks at least. There's some info about it here.

Could you get a sling? You can take a 3 month old baby pretty much anywhere, I take my 4 mo DD2 to the pub with me once a week grin

kimberlina Sun 10-Jul-11 13:41:25

My DH was the same. Statements such as :
'having a baby won't change my life'
'we'll keep her awake all day so she sleeps all night' hmm
'I'll work from home then we won't need childcare'

were all banded about LOTS before DD arrived .... but he's gone strangely quiet in the last 8 months grin