Talk

Advanced search

Any advice please re heart murmur- sorry to post on this board

(18 Posts)
NewChoos Tue 31-May-11 21:53:59

but I haven't had any replies on the child health board.

DS 9 weeks was reviewed today by 2 Drs who heard a heart murmur. They have said likely to be a VSD which is common in babies and hopefully will close on its own. We have been referred to the hospital and have an appointment at 1100 tomorrow so he can have further tests. Has anyone any experience of this?

Am very stressed......

Thanks

TruthSweet Tue 31-May-11 21:57:22

I'm sorry I have no experience in this but I do have experience in waiting for cons appts/test results so have a hand hold and a little <squidge> in solidarity.

organiccarrotcake Tue 31-May-11 22:04:36

Newchoos you could try phoning the NCT shared experience line on 0300 330 0774 who would be able to put you in touch with people who have experienced this. It won't be open until tomorrow though I'm afraid.

Support and a hand hold from here, too. xx

ThisisaSignofthetimes Tue 31-May-11 22:08:08

Hi my DD was diagnosed with this at about 9 mths old. We went for 6 month check ups for about 3 to 4 years, where they scanned her heart and weighed her. They told me that it was very likely that it would heal over itself but that if it didn't it was so tiny that it wouldn't impact her but that if she was ever to have dental surgery she should have an antibiotic prior to treatment as there is a small chance of infection. She is now a very robust 10 year old. Please don't worry, as long as your son is growing as expected at the check ups this shouldn't have any effect on him. To be honest I don't know whether my daughter vsd has closed, until I saw this thread I hadn't thought about it for years!

VerityBrulee Tue 31-May-11 22:14:40