Talk

Advanced search

We've spent weeks researching and testing breast pumps and bottles in real homes with real families. Read our baby feeding bottle and breast pump reviews to find out which ones were awarded Mumsnet Best.

B/F exclusively and vitiman supplements

(16 Posts)
geegeesmum Sun 14-Sep-03 20:33:51

Hi all,

Firstly, I am new to mumsnet and I must comment on how great it is to be able to ask questions of other mums - esp as all my close friends with kids and family are in Cape Town and too far away to ask !

Anyway down to the question. My DD is 22 weeks old and I am planning to continue to exclusively b/f her until 6 months and then introduce solids. So far so good but I am not sure if I should also be giving her some vitamin drops (called Abidec) which my HV recommended - she didnt tell me to definately give them, just said it was up to me - which leaves me dazed and confused about what to do - esp as the leaflet on Abidec has some peanut allergy warnings. As my DD has had excema (and there is a history of Asthma and Hayfever in the family) I am loathe to introduce another possible source of allergy. Can someone please tell me whether if I am being over cautious - what did you do when b/feeding at 22 weeks before solids were introduced ????? I have read somewhere about iron and vitamin D deficiencies which is why babies need the drops.

Thanks
Geegeesmum

pupuce Sun 14-Sep-03 20:40:57

If you have a good diet - you don't need vitamins but I am sure someone will disagree with me
This is what Dr Jack Newman (an expert on BF ) says about vit D:
"Except in extraordinary circumstances (for example, if the mother herself was vitamin D deficient during the pregnancy). The baby stores vitamin D during the pregnancy, and a little outside exposure, on a regular basis, gives the baby all the vitamin D he needs."

and on iron supplements :