Talk

Advanced search

Feeding 4pm - 4am and still hungry

(16 Posts)
Renlovesyou Thu 23-Dec-10 15:00:55

Ive cluster fed my little one for 12 hours (regularly since he was born, hes 19 days old) and hes still hungry at the end. Ive resorted to giving him a bottle at 4am as I just cant stand to leave him hungry and screaming, it breaks my heart.

Ive not done this every day, sometimes its an expressed bottle.

Whats going on with him? Its so disheartening to feed for 12 hours and then have him still take 40ml of formula sad

MumNWLondon Thu 23-Dec-10 15:48:42

If its an expressed bottle when are you expressing the milk?

Renlovesyou Thu 23-Dec-10 15:52:47

In the morning when my boobs are fuller, after his morning feeds which are at regular times now. Sometimes Ive expressed as late in the day as 3pm and I can still get a fair amount. (20 - 30 ml)

mum2oneloudbaby Thu 23-Dec-10 15:55:05

I'm no expert but have you checked your latch i think it can affect how much/how easily they get milk if it is wrong.

i'm sure somebody with more knowledge will be along soon

MumNWLondon Thu 23-Dec-10 15:57:02

The problem might be the expressing.

I always had loads of milk in the morning and less in the afternoon because prolactin levels are higher at ceetain times of day. If I had pumped it all off in the morning there would have been less for him in the afternoon IYSWIM. In the early days I felt quite full all morning but less so later on in the day.

Why are you expressing and what happens if you do don't express at all?

Renlovesyou Thu 23-Dec-10 15:58:08

The midwife came yesterday and has said hes feeding welll. Ive seen 2 MW's at home and some at breastfeeding workshop and they all say its fine.

He was born a week early and low birth weight, could it be that hes just a hungry boy trying to catch up? (perhaps thats naive)

tiktok Thu 23-Dec-10 16:00:04