Talk

Advanced search

wish me luck...i have decided to stop breastfeeding DD2 aged 22 months

(16 Posts)
Greythorne Mon 29-Nov-10 22:41:21

I have been breastfeeding the DC now for 4 years (DD1 for 2 years, now DD2 for 22 months) and the time has come to stop!

I realised this at the weekend when I went to a wedding and was matron of honour and there was a whole raft of organisational hoo haa to allow me to be at the wedding + breastfeed DD2. Long story, but entailed DH leaving the wedding, taking DD home, coming back to wedding etc.

So. how do I do it?

Distraction techniques welcome for those times when she will be clawing at my top and no amount of milk from the fridge will work.

Any tips on what to do when, say, she has hurt herself in the way toddlers are wont and at the moment, the best plan if to whip out the boob for a quick top up?

Bedtimes?

Can I go old-school and put something foul tasting on my nipples? (Only half joking)

llareggub Mon 29-Nov-10 22:43:02

Oooh. I've been wondering the same thing myself as I've considered stopping with DS2 now he is 19 months ish. I've been breastfeeding for 4 years and I think I've had enough. I've no idea how...

TheBigZing Mon 29-Nov-10 22:47:13

I don't have the answer- I have the same problem. I'm still feeding dd aged 2.3 and have no idea how or when to stop! But it's becoming logistically difficult.

Just marking my place.

Greythorne Mon 29-Nov-10 22:50:06

Hmmmm
It's just such a habit.
We went out for a quick supper tonight after school because DH was home (not at work this week, so we thought let's do something we never normally do). We went to a big family friendly chain and whilst we were waiting for the menus and first course, DD2 was getting restless and she was hungry and she was bored and I could see we were heading for disaster a challenging meal if the food did not arrive pronto. My first reaction was: give her a quick top up!

If I am honest, it's my response to 90% of difficult situations!