Talk

Advanced search

Refusing right breast

(14 Posts)
Newmumlondon Thu 18-Nov-10 16:27:08

3 month dd today has refused right breast v angrily all day. Has been v difficult to feed lately as teething (I know its early but she is, been checked out by doctor yesterday). Left breast not much milk left, right breast giant and hot. She won't sleep coz she's hungry. Mil here but just stares at me pityingly and suggests a bottle. Am drained and emotional - any ideas? Has tried tricking her by switching breast but she won't take it. She's screaming now fromhunger but won't eat, am in tears don't k ow what to do ..,.

japhrimel Thu 18-Nov-10 16:28:50

Are you using the same position each side, so she has to switch which side she's lying on to feed? Could that be uncomfvortable for her? It may have been obvious (I'm no expert!), but I didn't want to leave your post.

Good luck!

Newmumlondon Thu 18-Nov-10 17:46:23

I tried keeping the same position and switching but it didn't work. Gave her some calpol, she fed for ages on left, but there is no milk on that side, had a five minute snooze then fed on the right and is now asleep on my right nipple :-)

No idea what was wrong, she was refusing the right side all day.....

AngelDog Thu 18-Nov-10 19:49:50

Sometimes babies will refuse one breast in the normal position becasue they have an ear infection which makes lying in that position uncomfortable. I wonder whether she was in pain and the Calpol sorted it? Might be worth getting the GP to look at her ears if it happens again.

Lubymum Thu 18-Nov-10 19:59:30

My 3 month old started refusing the right breast 3 days ago! She eventually took it at lunchtime but refused again in the evening. She gets very angry and screams but will take the left with no problem. I am going to try calpol before the next feed - thanks for your posts, I thought I was the only one whose baby did this (mentioned it to a couple of friends and they thought I was mad!).