Talk

Advanced search

Please don't promote book giveaways here. If you'd like to discuss book giveaways on Mumsnet, contactus@mumsnet.com

Have you read Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo? Post your feedback by Monday 30 May for chance to win £100 Love2Shop Voucher

(20 Posts)
SorchaMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 11-Apr-16 10:15:23

This month we are delighted to bring you Raymie Nightingale, Kate DiCamillo’s heartfelt story about unlikely friendships. Raymie Clarke is on a mission to win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, and hopefully her dad back. On the way she meets rivals Louisiana Elefante and Beverly Tapinski and the three very different girls come to rely on each other in unexpected ways.

This is international bestselling author Kate DiCamillo's seventh novel. The Tale of Despereaux and Flora and Ulysses were both awarded the Newbery Medal. Fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Katherine Rundell will love Raymie Nightingale, perfect for children aged 10+.

Walker Books have asked us to find 25 Mumsnetters to read Raymie Nightingale and tell us what they think about it on this discussion thread. Go to the giveaway page to find out more and apply for a free copy.

You don’t have to win a free copy to take part in the discussion. Anyone who has read Raymie Nightingale can post their feedback here, and all who post before 30 May will be entered into a prize draw to win a £100 Love2Shop voucher.

This giveaway is sponsored by Walker Books

leilajay Fri 29-Apr-16 00:45:23

Just had my copy and started reading. Lovely start. I love the style of the author. Straight to the point so the story doesn't drag on. Thank you for my copy will get back to the forum when I finish reading the book.

AngelicCurls Fri 29-Apr-16 20:10:09

I wasn't a fan of this book unfortunately. From the start the type set was annoying-I read quickly and the narrow pages of text with wider spaced words meant I was having to turn the pages frequently-this sounds trivial but it was annoying!

I couldn't work out whether this was meant to be aimed at young adults or not-the blurb on the back focused on the author's award for children's lit and the style of this book seemed to be aimed more at teenagers than adults. I didn't think there was much substance to the book, the story was trivial and a bit boring really. I only finished IT because I was reviewing it, had I got it on my kindle id have deleted it im afraid. Sorry, I was disappointed this time

nerysw Wed 04-May-16 20:16:17

I started my copy not long after receiving it and it looks a lovely book, with a pretty cover and I like the easy to read format of the pages. I read it very quickly and could tell it was good because I was slightly sad that I'd finished it and had to find another book to read. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it - it's deceptively gentle but deals with some big themes and the phrasing and style of the narrator are inviting. There's something a little magical about it. I wasn't sure if it was aimed at young adults but I would recommend it for any age group.

Seashellseashells Thu 05-May-16 09:03:20

Brilliant book.

Whitecoconut Thu 05-May-16 09:12:16

Thanks for the book and here is what my 11yr old dd thinks.

"I thought it was an amazing book. The characters were interesting and unique. I quite like the story line because it has a lot of exiting things going on. I would recommend this book for 8- 12. I give it a 5 star rating because it is that good!"

navylass Thu 05-May-16 14:56:15

My 11 year old grandaughter is thoroughly enjoying this book, well written and great characters. Thank you for giving her the opportunity to read it and introducing her to an author new to her.

loosechange Thu 05-May-16 23:12:34

Thank you for this book.

I started it, and was skeptical for the first few chapters, as I thought it was going to be predictable. I like the comment "deceptively gentle" used by a previous poster, it sums up the book well.

It ebbed and flowed through the life of the little girl over the few days it covered, but packed a punch underneath.

I have been reading this with my daughter too. I think she is slightly young for it, and we are only a few chapters in together, but after being dubious initially she is enjoying it. The style is unlike the books she usually reads, and I am pleased to have been able to introduce her to a new author and a new style of book.

princessgray Sun 08-May-16 07:02:37

Unique characters which are interesting to read about, written in a slightly different style. A great read for pre-teens.

SorchaMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 16-May-16 14:27:02

Hi all- sorry for any confusion but this is a book for children aged 10+. With that in mind, we do hope you and your kids enjoyed reading the book and continue to post your feedback!

SuperMumNot Mon 16-May-16 17:53:53

My daughter (pre-teen) read this quite quickly and said it was an 'easy read' and she quite enjoyed it. My 13 year old son wouldn't touch it LOL!

cavylover Wed 18-May-16 20:52:18

Unusual style of writing but once you get used to it the book proved to be an interesting read with interesting characters throughout. The probable age range would be for pre-teens and would be more appealing to girls.

wannabestressfree Wed 18-May-16 21:06:20

I read it at school with some reluctant readers and they really enjoyed it. The style of writing was brilliant and easy to follow. Likeable characters and plot that appealed..will use again. I liked the cover too smile

Rajie Tue 24-May-16 19:42:58

Thanks for the book.I thought the style of writing was quite unusual.The book proved to be an interesting read and the characters were different and unique with many things going on. The age range would be, I think for pre-teens.

debjani Wed 25-May-16 16:35:32

My DD (aged 11) has read the first chapter and says: this book is very good as it goes straight into the story and the font is nice and easy to read. However because it dives straight in, it feels as if you have missed something. (We received a free copy of this book via mumsnet & our views are our own).

ahigney Wed 25-May-16 17:08:55

My son is almost 8.He is an avid reader,a great reader,a devoted reader!!It took him a while to get into this book.I think he did enjoy it,altough it won't be his favourite.It's a lovely edition and a gentle story to get into.

nerysw Wed 25-May-16 21:07:32

My daughter is still a little young for this book but I'm keeping it for when she's a bit older. I thought it was lovely though.

milliemoon Thu 26-May-16 17:50:38

I thought it was a really sweet tale which also covered deeper emotional themes. The girls reminded me of how I was as a young girl. I was a little disappointed with the ending regarding the cat as it seemed a bit far fetched, couldn't work out if it was supposed to be a dream but overall I did really enjoy it

Brighty1 Mon 30-May-16 21:14:04

I'm about half way through the book so far, really enjoying it, can't wait to get to the end.

burwellmum Tue 31-May-16 23:09:24

Tried to get my 11 year-old DS to read this for you but he was disdainful - this was a book for girls. Sorry.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now