Talk

Advanced search

Please don't promote blogs that aren't in the Mumsnet Bloggers Network. Join the network

Help! Social media shy!

(12 Posts)
indigogirl66 Mon 23-Mar-15 14:35:05

Hi there, I've been blogging for about 18 months now, and I have been happy with keeping things quite low key. I didn't tell very many people about it, just close friends and family. I love doing it, and I've had some lovely comments from people I know and via the blog about my writing, so I'm thinking now about trying to to grow my readership and connect with the blogging community a bit more.

The trouble is, I find the concept of promoting myself via social media really tricky and time consuming and I would go so far as to say that Twitter gives me anxiety, it moves at such a pace! I'm also considering if I should share my blog with local mum groups on Facebook, or even on my Facebook personal page at all. I'm worried about offending anybody or that people will laugh at me behind my back - I know this is silly but that sort of thing does upset me.

Can anybody give me any wisdom or just a good talking to please?!

My blog is https://abeeandabloom.wordpress.com in case you want to have a look for reference. (I promise I am not just posting it to try and get more views this way…!!)

MrsFlannel Mon 23-Mar-15 18:34:59

Oh yes it's a real problem isn't it! Share, share and share again though. Those who hide in the shadows don't get the benefits of the sunshine....you're afraid (as am I!) of people sniggering in a "Who does she think she is!?" kind of way but the simple truth is that those people are no use to you anyway!

The people who judge aren't the people you want to affect....the people who are good and will share and give you praise for doing something are the people who won't judge. They will admire.

I haven't clicked your link yet but will do now. x

MrsFlannel Mon 23-Mar-15 18:36:44