Talk

Advanced search

Please don't promote blogs that aren't in the Mumsnet Bloggers Network. Join the network

Help needed re lightweight pram for a disabled mum

(12 Posts)
JenG1986 Wed 04-Feb-15 15:17:16

Hi all, I'm really new to this so not sure if I'm posting in the right place. I'm 17 weeks pregnant and as a bit of background about myself, I have hyper mobility Ehlers Danlos Syndrome (Type 3) which is a genetic condition causing widespread joint pain, muscle spasm and joint wobbliness etc, along with a variety of associated health problems (fibromyalgia/PoTS etc). I am starting to think about buying a pram (wow, there's a lot to choose from!) but I really need one that's lightweight, easy to put up and down and steers well to save my joints from getting any more aggravated than usual! Any advice would be very much appreciated! Thank you smile

Nolim Wed 04-Feb-15 15:25:52

Just to crarify do you need to fold/unfold frequently? Or will it be unfolded most of the time?

JenG1986 Wed 04-Feb-15 15:27:14

hi smile it's just when getting it in and out of car etc.. it'll probably stay 'put up' in the porch most of the time for ease!

AndHarry Wed 04-Feb-15 15:30:07

Babyzen Yoyo Zero

tryingtocatchthewind Wed 04-Feb-15 15:31:22

That's a tough one, a have a bugaboo bee which is very light and steers like a dream. However it needs a good shove with a foot on the bottom to put it up and can throw you off balance. Also have a petite star which is light and easy to put up and down but awful to steer with a toddler in. Never tried a maclaren type, that could be worth a try. Go to a large mothercare and a have a try as soon as possible as it'll get harder to play and lift them the larger you get!

CMOTDibbler Wed 04-Feb-15 15:31:28

To choose a pram/pushchair, you have to start by thinking about how you travel - will you mostly walk, get the bus, or drive?