Talk

Advanced search

Please don't promote blogs that aren't in the Mumsnet Bloggers Network. Join the network

Help! I've been offered a magazine slot, advice needed!

(15 Posts)
peekyboo Wed 03-Apr-13 16:01:19

Hi all,

I've been offered a slot as a regular contributor on an online magazine. It would be about once monthly and for 700 words. But they can't offer me any payment for it.
Is this standard? It's not a big, glitzy magazine, it seems quite advert free. But should I be doing things for free?
I feel it would raise my profile and would be something for my CV - as I'm also a professional writer. It's just I have doubts and don't know if his is the way of things.
Advice appreciated!

Amanda

aspie-girl.blogspot.co.uk/

JerryLeadbetter Wed 03-Apr-13 19:55:29

I would go for it personally! As you say, it can't hurt to raise your profile. If the site starts showing adverts ie taking money, then down the line you could perhaps negotiate a small fee, or whatever both parties can agree on.

Congrats!

Gusthetheatrecat Wed 03-Apr-13 21:47:22

I would also say go for it. You've nothing to lose. If you decide you aren't getting anything from it, you can always stop. You could track how much traffic you're getting from the site and bear that in mind, too...

peekyboo Wed 03-Apr-13 22:18:58

They do have some ads on the site, though smaller private ones, not like Adsense or similar.
I don't want to miss an opportunity but at the same time it's such a regular commitment. I'd feel happier if I knew everyone else working for them for free too!

peekyboo Wed 03-Apr-13 22:19:51

I should maybe ask if I'll be able to include my blog address and links to my books? Then I might get some other benefits!

JerryLeadbetter Thu 04-Apr-13 14:07:51

Oh yes, I would have thought they should include a link to your blog as standard, plus links to books- I definitely would as standard if I featured any blogger/writer on my blog or website.

Craftsonsea Thu 04-Apr-13 20:47:02