Talk

Advanced search

Please don't promote blogs that aren't in the Mumsnet Bloggers Network. Join the network

new here and needing constructive, kind advice!

(16 Posts)
rainbowbrite1980 Wed 17-Oct-12 12:19:30

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Mumsnet Bloggers Network, and would love any tips / advice you can give me (nicely and kindly!) - I am hosting my blog in the free version of wordpress.com (is this ok?), and having a few problems getting the blog to look exactly as I want it. I'd love it if anyone could have a look and comment (again, kindly!) on what you see?

www.makingourmemories.wordpress.com

I also need some help in directing more traffic to my blog. I am gathering followers mainly via facebook and by commenting on other blogs, but I'm not sure of the etiquette of shamelessly plugging my own blog in comments, so hesitant to do this. But my numbers are teeny and little at the moment and I'd love any ideas as to how I can attract more readers.

Thisisaeuphemism Wed 17-Oct-12 12:28:30

Hiya,

I have the same questions as you, and my blog: (Grandadcametotea.wordpress.com) is only 2 months old, so not sure I'll be much help.

I had a look at your blog and think you're a wonderful mother! I like the suggestions of things to do, etc, and the sweet pics. I'm not sure about the busy background (the bears?) I found it distracting, but then I like things v. simple.

I think twitter can make a difference with traffic, and also joining other groups I suppose. It is v. hard to put yourself out there, I know. sad

I too wonder about plugging blog in comments on here. I don't think on mumsnet it is 'the done thing'. I did it once, and everyone v. politely avoided it!

2under2blog Wed 17-Oct-12 12:30:15

Hello Kate!

Great idea for a blog, I'll be trawling for rainy day activities. I have followed your site. A few things:

1. Your MN bloggers badge seems to have imploaded - looks like it's unhappy with the code.