Correcting children's grammar

(17 Posts)
MarcelleBabies Wed 12-Sep-12 10:43:30

It really annoys me how some parents insist on correcting their child when they say things like "I ranned". I have a degree in linguistics and child language acquisition, but don't believe anyone needs a degree to realise that this grammar is a natural journey, and what your child's actually done is be very intelligent, because they've recognised that to form a past tense (in the regular sense) you can add -ed on the end of some words.

Does it irritate anyone else to see parents prodding their kids and saying "NO! Its "I ran" ?

OP’s posts: |
imnotmymum Wed 12-Sep-12 10:46:11

I do not say or prod "No it is x" but just repeat it to them in the correct form. Modelling language/behaviours is not a bad thing IMO but I believe it is the way you do it-positively.

crackcrackcrak Wed 12-Sep-12 10:49:46

I can't help it. I'm paranoid dd will be saying 'I need to go toilet' when she's 41 like her father.
She speaks (at 3) in very long sentences with many conjunctions so it's not as if she can't say it correctly.
She says 'I need to do a wee' (to my delight) my my general anxiety about grammar is due to the above.

ladywithnomanors Wed 12-Sep-12 10:54:09

I correct my children's grammar. It's a natural thing to do do. I agree it's the way it's done that is key.

MarcelleBabies Wed 12-Sep-12 11:01:31

Yes absolutely, it's great to be a good example and model correct grammar. I just sometimes see parents driven round the bend when their child won't say something correctly, and it will naturally come.

Same thing with pronunciation sometimes, too. Like you say, it's not like they don't always know correct way to say something. My son has a friend who says "fis" instead of "fish" and every time he says it, i'll say "oh, is that what your fis said?" and he'll say "no, my fis said!" he knows the right way, he just can't say it yet. It's quite cute.

TheNewson Wed 12-Sep-12 13:38:54