Talk

Advanced search

Biting

(12 Posts)
TrinaJ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:17:26

My dd 2.5yrs has just started biting again, I'm a nursery nurse and at my wit's end! She only does it at nursery (I do not work in her room) where discipline is restricted to within the nursery's boundaries.
Any ideas to stop it happening?

zebraZ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:23:43

Why is she biting? Can you solve the problem(s) that is making her want to bite?

TrinaJ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:26:56

It's always arguing over toys, which i know is normal, but i want to teach her it's wrong, and another way to deal with it.

zebraZ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:31:09

Not sure if this will work, but could they... Make sure she doesn't get the toy, make the point that she would have had equal claim to the toy if she hadn't bit, but since she bit, no way, she cannot get what she wants by biting. Make a big deal of giving the disputed toy to the bitten child. I would think 2.5 yo is old enough to understand the 'consequences' thing (my 2.5yo dd would have understood, anyway).

Heading the problem off might help a bit, too, if she has some favourite toys that she always fights over and the staff are alert to that, they can seize the situation before the toy-fighting begins.

Otherwise, time will sort it...?!

TrinaJ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:36:32

Thanx, that's given me some good ideas,I think it's the most useful advice i've had. It's normally about a buggy! and always the same child, I have my suspicions that the other child may be trying to take the buggy away. Thanx again

zebraZ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:43:15

glad to help... I can certainly envisage right bru-has over a doll's pushchair in the 2-3yo room, between the girls!

(pssstt.. simple solution, get another, identical buggy!)

TrinaJ Tue 21-Jun-05 21:55:47

There'll always be something else!!
I'll keep the post going to report on progress.

TrinaJ Thu 23-Jun-05 20:57:08

No biting today!! Been watched closely though!