Talk

Advanced search

7 month old's nightly feeding

(11 Posts)
pinkthechaffinch Fri 28-Aug-09 14:59:51

My 7 month old dd wakes around 11pm and has about 2 oz formula. She then wakes about 3.30/4 and has a great big feed of 7oz.

She goes to bed at 6.30pm and wakes at 7am.

I think part of the problem is OH who is a light sleeper and rises to get dd at the slightest noise. I'm finding it very annoying tho!

I'm thinking about giving her water only when she wakes at 3 and seeing how that goes-the thing is she isn't drinking a lot in the day time at the mo.

Anyone else been through anything similar? Is offering water only at night a bit cruel?-
all this stemmed from feeding on demand in the beginning.

choufleur Fri 28-Aug-09 19:31:19

I'm no expert but could you try dream feeding her when you go to bed (not sure obviously what time that is) and see if it cuts down waking to only the once.

MyCatIsABiggerBastardThanYours Fri 28-Aug-09 19:34:15

Watching this to see what people advice. My DS is 6 1/2mths is similar. I'm obviously hoping for some miracle.

pinkthechaffinch Fri 28-Aug-09 20:40:13

hI MYCAT

Nice to know I'm not alone smile. All other mums I've met so far seem to have dc's that go through the night from 6 weeks!

Tonight,I'm on my own with her (OH away)so I'm planning to feed her at 11 and then give her nothing but water if she wakes. [emoticon for bracing myself]

I'll let you know how it goes!

MyCatIsABiggerBastardThanYours Sat 29-Aug-09 10:03:49

Hi Pink

Nope, you are not alone. And I have the same as you, everyone elses child seems to go through the night. I have decided they are lying to make themselves feel better. You and I are the only honest ones! grin

How did it go last night? I was going to be tougher this weekend with DS too, but DD is ill at the moment, keeps being sick at night, so I decided one DC to cope with was enough!

Next week though son, your time has come...