Talk

Advanced search

My 21 month old DS still has to be rocked to sleep. Please help

(10 Posts)
MyGoldenNotebook Tue 21-Jul-09 20:13:33

I just don't know what to do. He gets hysterical if left in his cot. He's so heavy now that only my husband can rock him for long enough. It takes the best part of an hour every night.

I'm a teacher and my husband also works full-time and I think we have probably spoiled him a bit. We hate him being upset even for a little while which is probably daft. I don't want us to be weak parents. During term time it's a nightmare as it takes up a huge chunk of our evening. It's upsetting too as he always fights it.

We have tried moving it up into his bedroom and just sitting with him, but he just chats and tries to play. We tried leaving him to his own devices to see what time he would go to sleep naturally, and he was still running around at 11.30pm!

I know it's our own fault. We have always done the bath, bottle, book thing but the bed thing just never followed. It was so easy to give him a little rock when he was small, and we enjoyed it. Probably the lazy option eh?

littone Tue 21-Jul-09 22:15:53

Whatever method you chose, you need to be consistent - if you leave him to his own devises every night I am sure eventually he will go to sleep sooner.

You could do it in in small phases (though to be honest the leaving him to it would probably be quicker). Could you rock him until he is nearly asleep, put him in his cot/bed and then pat is back? Then move to patting his back whilst he is in his bed, then to just having your hand still on his back, then slowly withdrawing from the room.