Talk

Advanced search

Problems with Twins staying in beds

(12 Posts)
MellieMumoftwins Mon 04-Apr-05 15:43:58

Hi I'm new to this and desperate for some help/advice from somebody that may have gone thru similar experiences. I have twin girls, 27 months old. I put them both into their cotbeds 4 weeks ago. They share a room together.

Once they are asleep, I rarely have any problems with them getting out of bed, and they do not normally appear in our bedroom until 6am(ish). The problem I have is with them actually going to sleep on their own. One of my daughters was very unsettled when she first went into the bed, so i started to sit with her while she went to sleep. 4 weeks later, and she will still not go to sleep unless i am sitting near her. This has now rubbed off on to her sister too!! I have tried gradually getting further and further away, but this is still not working, as soon as i am out of her sight, she will get out of bed. They still sleep in the day, and i hardly have a problem getting them to sleep then, its just the evening! They used to go to sleep in their cots completely unsupervised, and were normally asleep by 7.15pm. I still put them to bed at 7pm, but its so frustrating, they do not fall asleep for over an hour on a bad night & its driving me insane!! As a result, i feel that they are not sleeping enough, and are often very grouchy in the day. A friend has suggested putting a stairgate across their door, and if they get out of bed, let them do what they need to do in their room, even if they fall asleep on the floor at 10pm!! This thought still horrifies me! I want to get them into the sleep routine they used to have, in bed at 7pm, and straight to sleep on their own!!!

I keep watching Carrie & Justine's Mums the Word hoping someone might appear on the show with similar probs, but not seen anything yet!!

Anyone with any ideas, please let me know - I would be so grateful for help!!

ambrosia Mon 04-Apr-05 15:55:11