Talk

Advanced search

Imaginary Friends

(16 Posts)
SkyenSummer Fri 12-Dec-08 10:34:09

My daughter aged 4, has had an imaginery 'grandpather', 'cousin' and 'big sister' whom she says lives round the corner with a big garden and she also has a rabbit! I am beginning to wonder how to deal with it, do I agree with her & amuse her, which I have been doing, but she wanted to go round to her 'grandpathers' last week to the point she had a paddy on the floor because we had said OK earlier in the day just to get her out the door, so when it didn't come about she went off.....crying etc. so this did worry me about the way we're handling it, any advise....??

sparklyxmasfairy Fri 12-Dec-08 10:38:28

not quite sure as I am new to this business, dd is 3.6 and she got an imaginary friend when she started nursery a few months back, apparently called Luke
it seemed like a way of dealing with the change, last night she went on about another friend which seems to be the one she uses to describe fanciful things she wants to try
so far we just listen and take it lightly

hillbilly Fri 12-Dec-08 11:42:01

Also not sure I can help but DD who is 3.6 has had an imaginary friend called Alexander (but is a girl!), who apparently does not go to the same pre school, is 5yrs old and has multicoloured curly hair! (sounds like Kelis!)

This started shortly after she started at a new pre school.

nancy75 Fri 12-Dec-08 11:46:18

my dd (3.5)got an imaginary friend called jeremy the princess - its a girl! when we moved house, i must admit it gives me the creeps but we have just gone along with it really, cant offer any advice, just nice to know shes not the only one.

sparklyxmasfairy Fri 12-Dec-08 11:52:41

I meant to add I would not use it to get her to do something, just on the point that it is a promise you can't fulfil

I just nod and repeat what she says and just let it go
- Luke was there too
- oh was he?
- Yes it was fun

nancy75 Fri 12-Dec-08 11:54:34