Talk

Advanced search

sleepy 7 week old

(8 Posts)
nicnic01 Wed 19-Nov-08 18:51:17

hi, im new to this but wanted to see what other peoples experiences are. my 7 week old daughter is gorgeous but seems to sleep a lot. day and night. When she is awake she is great and seems to be developing as expected-smiling, cooing, feeding well (breastfeeding), putting on weight well. Some days are better than others, but frequently, like today, she is only awake for half an hour at a time then cries until I rock her to comfort her and she falls asleep. I check that there is no other reason for her crying first. She really is just tired! Today I would say she has been awake for 2-3 hours at the most in short bursts. As I say, some days she is awake for much longer periods. I will ask health visitor tomorrow when I get her weighed but wondered if any one had similar sleepy babies. THe only reason I wonder if this is ok is from speaking to the other mums at our baby groups- my daughter is getting a reputation for sleeping through all the groups and songs. I laugh it off but it has got me wondering if it is ok for her to sleep so much?

hopefully Wed 19-Nov-08 19:56:37

Is the half hour awake time including a feed?

Unless someone suggests a reason you ought to be concerned, I would just count your blessings! I really found that it was only at 6-7 weeks that my DS began to have noticeable awake time after a feed and nappy change, and he's huge and was late, so was perhaps a bit ahead of some on that front?

My DS is only sleeping 10-14 hours out of 24 at the moment and is chronically overtired at the moment, I'm desperately trying to increase it.

angel1976 Wed 19-Nov-08 20:39:51