Talk

Advanced search

Slapped my 6yo boy this morning - am I evil?

(213 Posts)
Rococorita Tue 08-Jul-08 09:15:55

Can't stop crying. My 6yo DS was acting up before school this morning. Wouldn't get dressed, shouting rude things at me, and finally whacking me. I snapped and slapped him - quite hard - on the cheek. I have never done this before. He was shocked and burst into tears. On the way to school I told him I loved him and was sorry but he said he hated me and would never kiss me again. I'm a complete wreck.

Have I done irreparable damage - and should I be turning myself in to social services immediately?

youcannotbeserious Tue 08-Jul-08 09:19:08

I'm sure you haven't done irreperable damage.

Where did he hit you?

WinkyWinkola Tue 08-Jul-08 09:19:26

Oh dear. What a morning you've had. You lost your cool and it happens to everyone.

You hit him. You apologised. Hopefully you'll both be able to move on from this.

But I guess you won't be hitting him again!

I guess I would try to think of a sliding scale of forfeits for my DS if he started behaving in the same way again. I'd tell him about them too tonight after another apology.

But I'm no expert!

claricebeansmum Tue 08-Jul-08 09:20:06

No.
I am a firm believer that it is important that children do see that their parents are human too - occasionally they snap, sometimes they cry. Obviously I am not condoning hitting children regularly but this will not have done lasting harm.

The important thing is to now move forward - explain that he cannot play up before school etc and work out a way that your mornings can be smoother - getting out clothes night before etc

WigWamBam Tue 08-Jul-08 09:23:39

What he has said is emotional manipulation - 6 year olds are brilliant at it.

He doesn't hate you; he doesn't like what you did and how it made him feel, but he doesn't hate you.