Talk

Advanced search

One year old throwing food etc

(16 Posts)
surreygirl1987 Sat 19-Oct-19 18:47:53

My one year old throws food from his high chair. I know a lot of this is to see what happens, but he's been doing it for months so surely he knows by now that it hits the ground?! I say 'no we don't throw food' firmly each time but then he does it again. He watches me as if looking for my reaction most of the times he does this. I try to distract him with another piece of food but it doesn't seem to work. Sometimes I think it's because he's had enough food, but other times he drops the first piece of food he touches and I know he must be at least a bit hungry. Any advice? I don't mind the mess that much, but I do want to ensure that he gets the appropriate level of discipline by age... And as a ftm I'm just not sure when that really starts. I'm a secondary school teacher - give me a surly teenager to deal with any day and I know what to do, but I have no idea what I'm doing with a baby!

Harrysmummy246 Sat 19-Oct-19 19:57:23

They don't understand at this age a sentence like that and it is a 'schema' so will tend to be repeated. And it's not just that it falls, it makes a sound or goes splash or.....

And they have little to no impulse control at this age either. Waterproof cloth under the high chair or get a dog

surreygirl1987 Sat 19-Oct-19 20:28:32

Thanks. As I say, I'm not too concerned about the mess (and we do have a waterproof sheet under). So is there no point me telling him no yet? He often has a tiny grizzle when I tell him not to so I thought he did kind of understand, especially as he keeps watching me as if for my reactions. If so, at what point should I start telling him no etc? Thanks for your help! Winging it here!

LeGrandBleu Sun 20-Oct-19 05:56:27