Talk

Advanced search

1 year old sleep training

(4 Posts)
Natasha92 Thu 13-Jun-19 16:47:21

Hi guys, I'm hoping someone can help.. im a newbie on here and need some help on sleep training my 1 year old. Yes I've probably left it slightly late but he has always been a good sleeper but for the passed few weeks he is hating his cot and coming into our bed, at first I put it down to teething but now that hes used to it, he just expects to come into bed with us and literally screams till hes in our bed. I can put him to sleep just fine, in my arms but as soon as hes in his cot he will cry, I cant spend my evenings in the room with him so I'm willing to try sleep training methods but I wanted to hear from any mums who have tried anything and it's been successful?

OP’s posts: |
Peanutty86 Thu 20-Jun-19 09:07:57

It can be as successful as you want it to be. It's hard, it's heartbreaking to see them cry but imo it's worth it as it helps them sleep better. The main thing is consistency. You need to make a plan and stick to it. We've seen improvement very quickly, unfortunately we've let it slip a few times for several reasons and now we're back to step one. Only started again two nights ago and already seeing improvement (lo is 11 months). I have read the 'good night sleep tight' book and found it very good. We did make little tweaks here and there but I like how it explains that basically when your baby wakes up crying, it cries because it wants to sleep but needs support as they can't do it on their own yet, that's what we're trying to teach now.

Natasha92 Thu 20-Jun-19 09:36:24