Talk

Advanced search

Paranoid mum or real problem child

(7 Posts)
Janell Sat 10-Aug-02 21:09:25

I'm new to this but reading some of the other threads I thought that somebody may be able to help, give advice etc. on my problem.
I have a gorgeous 4 year old boy who is loving, affectionate and funny. Since a baby he's always been very sociable and friendly and everybody always knew him - for the right reasons then!
When he was 21 months old he hit toddlerdom and although he's never been a tantrum child and could be easily distracted he started to get very physical and aggressive with other children and hit and push them. I'm part of a large group of friends with children the same age
and used to think that this was terrific but now don't as their children have come out of the aggressive stages and mine hasn't and still pushes and shoves.
I feel like I don't want to take him anywhere and go cold at the thought of party season and soft play centres. When we're out on play dates I can't relax, and spend the whole time watching him and waiting for other children to come and tell me that he's done something. I have tended to blame him immediately in the past when it was sometimes the other child who started it and he now tends to admit to things that he hasn't done. The other kids have cottoned on to this, and the fact that he's not a tell tale, and always come and tell tales on him first.
It makes me so sad because he's such a lovely boy and is very popular in spite of this but I worry because he always takes the play too far and gets physical (I think he sometimes thinks that this is a way of communicating with other boys) and I think that the kids and the parents may start getting fed up with him. I worry that he'll have no friends at school.