Talk

Advanced search

Not reading at 5

(47 Posts)
ks Tue 16-Jul-02 20:19:05

Message withdrawn

Art Tue 16-Jul-02 21:06:26

KS,

I know its really difficult not to worry and not to compare your dss progress with others in the class. Some children, particularly boys just take longer to get going.

I am a reception teacher so I,ve seen a huge range of 5yos. Its hard to know whether their is cause for concern without knowing if your son is just 5, nearly six, has been at school all year or only 1 or 2 terms?

Usually by the end of the year I would expect the majority of the class to recognise most of the letters of the alphabet, their own name and some of the names of their friends and common words that tend to crop up a lot - 'and' 'I' 'Mum' 'Dad' ...

Some children learn well by using the sounds of the letters and building them into words, but obviously they need to recognise the letters first. Other children find it easier to recognise and remember whole words. Every child is different.

It sounds a bit from your message as if the problem is your son's attitude? Maybe he just hasnt been ready? or been put off in some way? The most important thing is to get him interested in books and the reading should follow.
If the school arent too concerned, dont worry. You may find it just 'clicks' soon.

Maybe you could ask to have a meeting with the new class teacher to discuss your worries. They may have some ideas of ways you could help your son at home over the summer, and will be able to tell you more clearly if they think that there is cause for concern. They will also be able to tell you the sort of things the SEN teacher may be doing to help/assess your son's level.

Sorry if this is a bit waffly - didnt really answer your question, just try to relax over it, otherwise ds will pick up on it. (Easier said than done I know)

SofiaAmes Tue 16-Jul-02 21:31:08