Help needed with brother in law's behaviour with grieving nieces

(7 Posts)
Auntyof6 Fri 04-May-18 12:12:51

Hi all - I'm a newbie and so not sure if this is in the right place, but I really need some help.

Sadly, my sister passed away three weeks ago. She was 45 and had breast cancer. She also had 4 daughters aged 19, 16 and 11 year old twins.

I am very close to the girls and I always promised my sis I would look after them as much as I could.

My problem is the girl's father - my brother in law. He has always had a short temper. He is rude, curt, obnoxious and as a result has no friends. When my sister was in her final days in the hospice, he even lost it at the staff until eventually, the manager had had enough and complained to my family about him. He is just a vile and permanently angry person.

My problem now is that the girls are texting me daily to tell me that he is shouting at one or all of them and often has reduced the youngest to tears. It is always something trivial - this week it was because one of the twins had left her trainers at school.

Now I know that people will say that he is grieving - we all are. But he has ALWAYS had a foul temper and now he seems to have ramped it up even further. His rages seem to be daily - even at the 11 year old with diabetes as she often forgets to test or leaves her kit at school.

The 16 year old suffers from anxiety and has started taking herself out of the house to see friends or get on her bike, just to escape the atmosphere. He has had a go at her about that and accused of her "opting out" - and that "she can't expect the atmosphere at home to be for her benefit". The latter comment was a text to me after I suggested she needed calm.

He doesn't see that he has a vile temper, he just laughs it off and describes himself as a "grumpy git".