Talk

Advanced search

Help! At wits end with toddler pulling hair

(14 Posts)
penny173 Sun 26-Feb-17 20:28:00

I have a lovely, cuddly, 2.3 yr old DS. He is great in so many ways except one - he is a terror with hair pulling. Most of the time it is aimed at me but he has pulled other children's hair as well. I had a horrible experience recently with another mum who, despite my apology, wasn't very nice and this has led to me losing a lot of confidence. Sounds silly but, honestly, I never knew raising a little boy would be this hard! This has been going on so long now (on and off since 9 mths old) that I just don't know what to do anymore and I am starting to wonder if it will ever end. I feel it has become less of a phase and more of a habit. We go through good spells where it goes away but it keeps coming back. I have spoken to lots of people, health care professions etc and pretty much exhausted google. This is my first time posting and I was wondering if anyone else had been through long periods with similar unsocial habits with their little ones? I guess I'm not really asking for advice on what to do when it happens as, having tried so much already, I have techniques in place but am really looking for some reassurance that it will get better.. For the record, I always tell him 'no/pulling hair hurts!' when he does it. If he has done it to another child I remove him for a time out and ask him to say sorry after. If he does it to me I say the same and move away from him. I have recently started using the step at home which is helping as he seems to know he has done wrong - a big improvement from when he used to think it was funny. Tonight he has had me in tears because of it. I was giving him a final cuddle before bed when he grabbed fist fulls of my hair with both hands for no clear reason. He goes to the childminders two days a week and he is an angel with her so it really seems to be centred around me. I do try and look out for triggers (lots of kids in a smal