Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

How much time should I spend playing with my baby?

(8 Posts)
Weejy Fri 23-Feb-07 15:35:28

Hello Mums. I am new to Mumsnet so bear with me! My DS is 8 months old and I have not returned to work. I am worried I am not giving him enough attention/playtime. He is very happy just to play on his own and I seem to be watching tv rather than playing with him. Lately I have noticed him watching the tv so I have switched it off as I have heard rumours about autism and tv being linked. Do other Mums spend all day sitting on the floor playing games and singing without the tv on or am I worrying unnecessarily?

Hulan Fri 23-Feb-07 15:47:48

Hi Weejy. One thing that's very important when you just become a mum is to never forget about yourself. So if you want to watch some telly you are by all means entitled to it. My DS loves the telly and knows quite a few songs, etc. (his favourite being Justin Timberlake) (Mummy's favourite too). BUT, you should also have quite a bit of play time for the two of you and try your best to take him for a walk at least twice a week. I'm a working mum, so can't be of too much help, but hopefully somebody else will come along soon

littlelapin Fri 23-Feb-07 15:53:07

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

fizzbuzz Fri 23-Feb-07 15:56:44

I also worry about this. Don't have tv on much, but dd is happy to sit and play.

Buuut, whenever I play/talk to her, she lights up like a christmas tree, then I feel guilty. However am aware that in 2 or 3 months, I won't be able to do much sitting around because she will be on the move.

I still feel guilty though...doesn't stop me posting on here though

Chandra Fri 23-Feb-07 15:57:57