Talk

Advanced search

New to Mumsnet and at my wits end!

(6 Posts)
Bug2012 Thu 12-May-16 19:05:38

Hi!

I'm new to Mumsnet so please bear with me! I would really appreciate some advice
My daughter is 4 years old and attends pre school 3 days a week. She can be quite boisterous and has to be constantly reminded to get her "listening ears" on. This is usually the same at home to be honest!
Just recently her behaviour at pre school has become worse to the point that she has started biting herself when she becomes frustrated and angry and is spending more and more time on the time out step
I've spoken to the teachers who felt that she might be bored so have been doing more advanced work with her but this doesn't seem to have made any difference
My husband and I both work full time and when I sat my daughter down this evening to talk about her behaviour she told me that she misses me and worries about me all the time when I am at work. She also said she gets sad because I don't drop her off or pick her up from school very often
This has made me question whether I should give up work but I have anxieties about this,from a financial point of view but also because she starts school full time in September and I don't know what I would do with myself! Also,would this really help? Has anyone had any experience of being in this position?
Any advice would be great

Thank you smile

NellWilsonsWhiteHair Thu 12-May-16 19:21:50

Not had exactly your experience, but I do have a 4yo in nursery who has sometimes acted out due to anxiety, so some thoughts...

It doesn't sound like the preschool approach is very helpful - her behaviour is driven by anxiety so neither punishing her nor stimulating her further will help. Can you discuss with them so they can develop a more supportive approach to her difficulties?