Talk

Advanced search

Six year old struggling to make friends in new schooll

(3 Posts)
FiDignan Sat 23-Apr-16 11:01:28

Hi all,

I'm new to MN so apologies if I get a few things wrong! I would like to ask your advice about my son who's six. We have just moved house and he has started at a new school. I'm a little worried about his behaviour with the other children and that he's struggling to be accepted into the already formed social groups. He was always a popular boy at his old school and had one or two very close friends and a wide range of kids he played with (both boys and girls). I made a really active effort to get to know the mums and teachers in the school and I think that helped him get play dates etc. My son is a boisterous boy who can get over hyper and silly at times but can also play quieter games. He hates team sports such as football and his perhaps a little more on the immature spectrum of his age group. He loves drama and role play games (Star Wars, Super heroes etc). At his old school I think he found his place and worked out who was like him and who wasn't and naturally cultivated friendships with those who were like him. They did mix the classes up at the beginning of year one and he did struggle for a period but then settled down- we threw a Halloween party for the kids in his class and this seemed to help!