Talk

Advanced search

4/5 year old girls...

(9 Posts)
resipsa Thu 17-Dec-15 16:36:57

My daughter is 4 and in reception. She has come home upset again today and tells me that some of the other girls have been saying 'not nice' things to her. These seem to include telling her that no one likes her, that no one wants to talk to her and that no one wants to play with her sad. The girls in question went to the nursery attached to the school and so knew each other before starting school. My daughter didn't.
I'm new to all this so have no idea if this is just 'normal' behaviour for girls at this stage or if it is worth saying something to the teacher. It seems like bullying but I don't know if 4/5 year olds are really capable of it. WWYD? Raise it or ignore and assume it'll be forgotten by January? Thanks for any wisdom.

BearFeet Thu 17-Dec-15 16:44:31

Definitely mention it. It doesn't matter if you call it bullying at that age or not. What matters is that it is your job as her parent to be her voice. I wouldn't hesitate to speak to the teacher. If it's a good school they will speak to them about how it's kind to be friendly to all.

resipsa Thu 17-Dec-15 16:53:28

Thanks. It's tricky to know what's real at this age but she tells me the same thing consistently so there must be something to it. She's normally very happy and confident so it's sad to see her deflated by unkind words. I don't think it would occur to her to say this sort of thing to another child.

f1fan2015 Thu 17-Dec-15 17:44:32

Check with the teacher as you are only getting one side of the story. My DD (5) was telling me how miserable a day she had had as she was the only girl at dress up day to not be in a princess dress (I had told her this was likely but she insisted she wanted to wear her Halloween outfit). The teacher reassured me that she had been fine and had been enjoying 'scaring' everyone with her skeleton outfit!

Pobspits Thu 17-Dec-15 17:46:06