Talk

Advanced search

Useful gifts for 2 year old - something stimulating?

(19 Posts)
spangledboots Sat 08-Aug-15 18:16:43

Hi all,

I'll try to explain this in a way that doesn't make me sound like an interfering aunt! I'll caveat this with the background information that I worked as an au pair/nanny during my university years and still sometimes babysit or help out for a couple of those families now. I've been around quite a lot of kids from different sorts of families, basically.

My brother and his (now) girlfriend have a baby - a sweet little boy who'll be 2 in September. I live far away (need to fly to get home) and only see him once a month at most. I've noticed over the last 3-6 months that he's quite a nervous little boy. He doesn't like too much excitement or noise - which makes sense as he lives alone with his mother most of the time and my dad's house is normally a hive of activity so it's scary for him. He also doesn't seem in any way interested in play. Once he's settled in to the environment, he just wants to walk around. Not even looking at things, picking stuff up - just walking around and every few minutes going up to his mum and saying 'mammie, mammie'. She barely looks up from her phone and never gets up from wherever she sits down when they get to dad's house.

I know from my brother that this is fairly normal behaviour and the only time he doesn't do this is if he's sat in front of the tv.

I really wish I could spend more time with him regularly - looking at books or playing with little toys - but as I can't do that and it doesn't seem to happen too often in his home, are there any toys/books etc. that I could pick him up for his birthday? I know they're on a budget (aren't we all!?) so if I can get him something they wouldn't buy themselves that might be useful.