Talk

Advanced search

Behaviour of your 3 year old.

(15 Posts)
SproutsMa Sun 12-Jul-15 11:41:48

My son is currently going through diagnosis for autism. In the past few weeks he has become a total little bad word and when I tell people that he has had me in tears yet again they tell me it's mostly his age. I've been blaming it all on asd because I have no other children around me to compare to. Tell me what your 2-3year old does so that I can know if I'm just not making any allowance for his age because of his pending diagnosis. Are they really this mental at this age?

MiaowTheCat Sun 12-Jul-15 12:42:10

I have a 2 and 3 year old. I'm also an ex early years teacher so I'm fairly hot on being consistent with boundaries and the like.

DD1 has had me in tears a fair few times recently - we seem to get a pattern of a spot of hell on earth and then back to lovely little girl again - the hell on earth phases are thankfully getting shorter as time goes on at least - but it's a really nasty smirking trying to crack me type of attitude when she's testing the boundaries.

Tiredness has a MASSIVE effect though - to Jekyll and Hyde levels.

We had a relatively easy time with the terrible twos with her as she was very very verbal, whereas her sister's having a much worse time aged two so I'm hoping the law of you're going to get a shit phase at some point makes her better through the threes.

pinkstrawberries Sun 12-Jul-15 12:48:58

No they aren't. My dd has ASD, and to me after that any child is easy.

pinkstrawberries Sun 12-Jul-15 12:54:50

What exactly is your ds doing? As people have different perceptions of challenging behaviour dependent on what they are used to, and their previous experience

makeminea6x Sun 12-Jul-15 12:55:35