Talk

Advanced search

Finding it very hard to deal with 11 year old

(8 Posts)
Caro14 Thu 27-Feb-14 09:10:36

Hi I'm new to MN because I am desperate for advice on how to deal with my 11 year old son. This is going to be long so get comfortable!! Sorry.

We have lived abroad for a long time and 18 months ago moved to a different country where we are now. We are immersed in an extremely cliquey environment where all the fathers/grandfathers/uncles went to the same school that my son is at now. He is very good at rugby but was quickly ousted out of the A team because a few of the parents didn't like it!

He is very academic and again there were parents and children who didn't like it. He then became a victim of bullying - about our Nationality, accent, house, his siblings etc.. His brother also has the same treatment.

Unfortunately he has become the total opposite of how he used to be.
He has always been a shy boy, never wanting the front row seat. He has now become very loud, obnoxious and arrogant. Even his teacher has mentioned that other staff have noticed his bad attitude.

We spent the last 2 months of last year at the school meeting with teachers to sort out the bullying - only to be told that HE is now bullying others!!! Apparently it has been talked about and it seems that those parents who have not accepted us being here are complaining about any behaviour.

He really is a lovely, warm and caring child who gives me a hug and big kiss in front of his friends.

He has become so negative about everything and does not care anymore about his behaviour. If he is in a good mood I find myself doing everything to maintain the cheeriness. If he is a bad mood then his siblings suffer.

I am not dealing with it at all as I end up screaming and shouting at him and, shamefully, try to use words that might scare him out of this behaviour.