Talk

Advanced search

Two year old doing herself down

(5 Posts)
Felakuti Tue 18-Feb-14 20:04:26

Hello!
Our dd is two years and eight months. She is a bright little button, picks up things easily, was talking, learning numbers etc. earlier than most. She started nursery 6 months ago for two mornings a week and the staff have also said she is very bright. However, they told me not to do too much 'educational' stuff with her to hold her concentration at nursery. I was slightly alarmed as I know that if she is not using her mind actively she gets pretty grumpy. Now, if we do a numbers game or alphabet jigsaw etc. at home, she has started 'acting up'. She suggests the activity but will put on a silly voice and guess the answers some of the time or, what is more concerning, say "you do it, I'm not very good at letters/ numbers". It's worrying me as I know that she does know the answers and has done for ages but for some reason is pretending she doesn't and exhibiting a real lack of enthusiasm when before she was naturally very keen to learn. It's horrible to hear such a young child putting themselves down and has made me wonder what on earth is going on at her nursery!
Any advice please?

grants1000 Tue 18-Feb-14 20:49:34