Talk

Advanced search

Teenage school refusal

(13 Posts)
newyork1 Sat 08-Feb-14 00:03:43

My 15year old daughter has been struggling to cope at school for 18 months, she has just started some sessions with the childhood mental health services, the waiting list has been a year! She cries a lot, is very withdrawn and has really bad mood swings, the doctor says she does seem to be suffering more than most teenagers. She cries for an hour some mornings and ends up staying at home and missing school. She is a lovely pretty girl but thinks she is ugly and unpopular, I wondered if anyone had any advice, me and her dad are doing everything we can think of but things just don't seem to be improving.

Misfitless Sat 08-Feb-14 09:00:46

What have the school said newyork1? Have they tried to help and get to the bottom of it?

I'm sorry that you're all having such a tough time.

I have no experience or advice, but my first thought was to wonder if she's being bullied via social networking.

I hope the sessions help, it must be heartbreaking for you to see her suffering this way thanks

Goldmandra Sat 08-Feb-14 09:14:56

You haven't described your DD very much so this may be very wide of the mark but it's worth saying anyway.

A significant number of girls who have problems in school turn out to have Asperger's Syndrome. They are incredibly competent at masking their symptoms and using alternative strategies to blend in socially but are still aware that they don't quite fit in for some reason.

Until my DD1 was 12 I wouldn't have even considered the possibility of Asperger's because my perception of it didn't include the profile of girls.

Google Asperger's in girls and Tony Attwood and see if you think it fits your DD at all. If it does and she ends up with a dx, she may be like my DD and feel a lot better for an explanation smile

newyork1 Sat 08-Feb-14 09:16:35