Talk

Advanced search

DD 21months has decided she wants to use the potty - help/advice

(10 Posts)
MamaBear17 Mon 20-May-13 11:51:02

I bought a potty a few months ago when because it was half price ad therefore a bargain. My intention was to put it away until the summer. I am a teacher and thought that the 6 week holiday would be the best time to potty train DD as we can focus completely on it and it would co-inside with her second birthday. I showed DD the potty and she sat on it fully clothed a few times but that was about it. However, today I asked her if she wanted to come with mummy to the toilet because I needed to go. We got to the bathroom and she said 'DD like go on a toilet' so, to try and keep her entertained so that I could wee uninterrupted, I bought her potty into the bathroom. DD then took her trousers off and demanded I removed her nappy. She then proceeded sit on the potty, get off, sit down again etc. Then she did a wee on the potty. On my next bathroom visit she has done the same, so has now wee'd twice on the potty and stayed dry in between. I am completely unprepared and do not know what I am doing. My instinct is to let her use the potty since she has instigated it. However, I do not want to get it wrong so any advice as to what to do next or how to potty train would be greatly appreciated!

jeee Mon 20-May-13 11:55:35

DD2 did just this at 21 months. We were on holiday, and she refused to put on a nappy. I thought, well, what's the worse that can happen. She had two accidents, one because we were in the car longer than I'd expected, and one (very messy) at the top of Clovelly. She never had another accident. Some children just 'get it' without any effort. Sounds like your DD might be one of them. Buy some nice knickers, and let her get on with it.

Knittingnovice Mon 20-May-13 12:04:15