Talk

Advanced search

NEED SUPERNANNY - 2 year old having uncontrollable tantrums - any advice??

(18 Posts)
pinky27 Sun 19-May-13 17:28:56

Hi, My 2 year old daughter is having awful tantrums, screaming fits and she hits and kicks me and her Dad. We have tried a range of techniques ( naughty step, ignoring her, praising good behaviour, using a star chart, rewarding good behaviour, being firm) but none of them work - Don't know what else to do - any suggestions?? The worst part is that I am a nursery teacher and can manage to control 104 nursery children but have absolutely NO control over my own child sad - what am I doing wrong??

nannynick Sun 19-May-13 17:36:59

Does she strip off all her clothes as well? They are just joys around this age, they seem to find having a verbal tantrum is not enough, they have to go a stage further and do something else, like kicking/hitting/stripping off.

Things I find that help:

1. "It's ok for you to be cross but the answer is No"... then walk away and leave them to it. Amazing how they come and find you, usually.

2. Distraction, find them something they want to do. "Lets play trains...", "where is dolls hairbrush?".

3. Cuddle them (note: remove any shoes first, it hurts to be kicked with shoes on)

All children are different as you will know from working with children. Avoid things like star charts, reward jars - have worked with children for 20 years and I've not found them to work. It may work in group setting but 1:1 at home I don't find it works... seems like you tried it and found the same.

Pick battles carefully, does it really matter if they won't wear a coat, have a clean face. Some things are non-negotiable of course.

Tee2072 Sun 19-May-13 17:38:30

She's two. Let her tantrum. Make sure she's safe and walk away.

You say you're ignoring, but I would bet you're checking on her periodically and trying to talk to her. Don't.

Wait until she comes to you.

It's not easy.

cyberfairy Sun 19-May-13 17:41:14